Innovation

Flem Xpress, a world first

Is it possible to bring large-scale projects – such as providing access to the Tectonic Arena Sardona UNESCO World Heritage Site Tectonic Arena Sardona – to fruition? Will guests feel safe in large cable cars? These are questions that the municipality of Flims, the Weisse Arena Group and the ropeway manufacturer Bartholet asked themselves. From the beginning, the goal was to make impressive natural environments accessible to young and old during every season. We wanted to have no restrictions on access and a high level of guest comfort in a sustainable way that reduces the impact on the environment. Innovative technology was specially developed to make this project a reality. Martin Hug, the current mayor of Flims, Reto Gurtner, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer at WAG (Weisse Arena Group) and the ropeway manufacturer Roland Bartholet of Bartholet Maschinenbau AG in Flums found a suitable solution for Flims. This tourist-oriented flagship project is the first of its kind worldwide. The gondolas transport guests to one of six different destinations in a fully automated and demand-driven way.

New technology in mountain tourism

The new Ropetaxi gondola system is a pioneering solution in the area of detachable monocable gondola lifts. As with conventional gondola lifts, the gondolas move on a cable. However, in the station, the gondolas move autonomously on rails by way of their own drive system. Guests can board the 10-seater gondolas with their skis and snowboards without issue in winter. In summer, the cabins can accommodate five bikes without guests having to give up their seats. In addition, in the panorama gondolas, guests can enjoy panoramic views regardless of where they are sitting.

Modern fittings and stations integrated into the surrounding nature

All 120 cabins are equipped with two phone charging stations and a ventilation system, so that the windowpanes do not mist up. As the Flem Xpress will be operational throughout the year and night journeys will be offered, the gondolas will also be equipped with discreet outdoor lighting. In order to allow guests to view the Flims mountain landscapes in as natural a way possible, the stations will be integrated into the landscapes as far as possible. Existing building structures will be reused and additional buildings will be built using local resources such as wood and concrete.

Accessible travel

Regardless of whether guests are travelling with sports equipment, on foot, with a pram or in a wheelchair, nobody should have to miss out on the chance to admire mountain landscapes and breathtaking views. Boarding a moving gondola can, under certain circumstances, be difficult. In most cases, there is not an accessible option. Flem Xpress’s innovative technology allows guests to comfortably enter and exit the stationary gondola with their luggage, sports equipment, pram or wheelchair – in a completely unrestricted way. Additionally, none of the gondola lift’s employees are required to help guests board. The ropeway station’s platform is separated from the guest areas by access doors, so that guests cannot enter the dangerous area. It is the first time that small gondolas have been made so comfortably accessible to those with walking or visual impairments, families and older people.

Here's how:

Guests select their desired destination at the station before departure. As guests can select their destination with a click of a button before boarding, they can enjoy an uninterrupted journey without changing lines.

A gondola labelled with its destination passes through the station and arrives in the entry area.

Guests enter the stationary gondola car in a stress-free manner.

An intelligent passenger allocation system with a display points guests to the right gondola. To ensure optimal use of the capacity, an automatic display records the number of passengers during boarding.

Switching mechanisms allow the gondolas to reach their destination without any stops. It’s comfortable, fast and without stops.

All that’s left to do is discover the area for yourself!

Nature in its purest form

This gondola lift uses less energy, creates no CO2 emissions and has been built using local resources. Flem Xpress only departs when there is passenger demand. If there are no guests, then no gondolas will be on the line. Additionally, existing stations are reused and expanded using local materials. This sustainable and environmentally friendly project demonstrates our continuing concern for the environment and makes Flims an attractive tourist destination.

Guest Feedback is important to us

In December 2021, the project was presented to Flums residents and those for whom the municipality of Flims is a second home at the ‘Flims2Flums’ event. The feedback received will be incorporated into future considerations and plans. The Ropetaxi system was viewed as modern, straightforward, innovative and impressive. The aspects that were most highly valued were the design, seating comfort, simple boarding procedure and travel comfort. Guests’ expectations are clear: the local Fil de Cassons mountain should be easily accessible in summer and winter. However, the gondola lift should also respect the surrounding nature and the precious wildlife in the mountains.
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Innovation

Weltneutheit Flem Xpress​

Können geplante Grossprojekte wie die Erschliessung des UNESCO-Weltnaturerbes Tektonikarena Sardona verwirklicht werden? Werden sich Gäste in Grosskabinenbahnen noch sicher fühlen? Fragen, die sich die Gemeinde Flims, die Weisse Arena Gruppe und der Seilbahnhersteller Bartholet gestellt haben. Das Ziel war von Anfang an, die eindrucksvolle Natur für Jung und Alt in allen Jahreszeiten zugänglich zu machen. Keine Einschränkungen, hoher Gästekomfort, aber trotzdem umweltverträglich und nachhaltig.

Damit dieses Projekt umgesetzt werden konnte, wurde spezifisch dafür eine innovative Technologie entwickelt. Martin Hug, heutiger Flimser Gemeindepräsident und Reto Gurtner, Präsident und Delegierter des Verwaltungsrats der WAG, haben gemeinsam mit Seilbahnbauer Roland Bartholet, der Flumser Bartholet Maschinenbau AG, eine passende Lösung für Flims gefunden. Das touristische Leuchtturmprojekt ist weltweit das erste seiner Art. Vollautomatisch und bedarfsabhängig transportieren die Gondeln Personen an eines von sechs verschiedenen Ziele.

Neue Technologie im Bergtourismus

Das neue Bahnsystem Ropetaxi bietet eine zukunftsweisende Lösung im Bereich der kuppelbaren Einseilumlaufbahn. Die Fahrt auf der Strecke erfolgt wie bei herkömmlichen Gondelbahnen am Seil, lediglich in der Station fahren die Gondeln dank einem eigenen Elektroantrieb autonom auf Laufschienen. So können Gäste im Winter problemlos ihre Skier und Snowboards in die 10er-Gondel mitnehmen und im Sommer finden in einer Kabine fünf Bikes Platz, ohne dass die Gäste auf ihren Sitzplatz verzichten müssten. Zudem können die Gäste in den Panoramagondeln von jedem Platz aus die Rundumsicht geniessen.

Moderne Ausstattung und in die Natur integrierte Stationen

Alle 120 Kabinen sind mit zwei Handy-Ladestationen und einem Lüftungssystem, damit die Scheiben nicht anlaufen, ausgestattet. Da der Flem Xpress ganzjährig in Betrieb sein soll und auch Nachtfahrten angeboten werden, werden die Gondeln zusätzlich mit einer dezenten Aussenbeleuchtung versehen. Um den Blick in die Bergwelt von Flims aus so natürlich wie möglich zu gestalten, werden die Stationen soweit wie möglich in die Landschaft integriert. Bestehende Bausubstanzen werden dabei wiederverwendet und zusätzliche Bauten werden durch heimische Ressourcen, wie Holz und Beton, erstellt.

Barrierefrei unterwegs

Egal ob mit einem Sportgerät, zu Fuss, mit Kinderwagen oder Rollstuhl – Berglandschaften und atemberaubende Ausblicke sollen niemandem verwehrt werden. Der Einstieg in eine fahrende Gondel gestaltet sich unter gewissen Umständen schwer. Eine barrierefreie Lösung gibt es in den meisten Fällen nicht. Die innovative Technik des Flem Xpress erlaubt, dass die Gäste mit Gepäck, Sportgeräten, Kinderwagen und Rollstühlen ganz ohne Stress in eine stillstehende Gondel ein- und aussteigen können. Absolut uneingeschränkt. Zusätzlich müssen keine Mitarbeitenden der Bahn beim Besteigen behilflich sein. Der Perronbereich der Seilbahnstation ist zusätzlich durch Zutrittstüren abgetrennt, sodass keine Gäste in den Gefahrenbereich gelangen können. Zum ersten Mal werden kleine Gondeln so geh- sowie sehbehindertengerecht und für Familien sowie ältere Personen ohne Hektik zugänglich.

Und so geht’s:

Die Gäste wählen vor Fahrtantritt an der Station ihr gewünschtes Fahrziel aus. Die Destinationswahl per Knopfdruck an der Destinationssäule ermöglicht eine ungehinderte Fahrt ohne Umsteigen.

Eine Gondel mit dem Ziel beschriftet erscheint aus dem Stationsumlauf an der Einstiegsstelle.

Eingestiegen wird in eine stillstehende Gondel ohne Hektik.

Die intelligente Personenzuteilung mit Anzeige regelt den Einstieg in die richtige Gondel. Für eine optimale Auslastung erfasst die automatisierte Anzeige die Anzahl Fahrgäste beim Einsteigen.

Mittels Weichen wird die Gondel ohne Zwischenhalt an den Zielort gefahren. Bequem, schnell und ohne Stopps.

Und dann gilt nur noch eines: Erleben!

Natur pur​

Geringerer Energieverbrauch, keine CO2-Emmissionen und Verwendung heimischer Ressourcen. Der Flem Xpress fährt nur auf Abruf. Gibt es keine Gäste, fahren auch keine Gondeln auf der Strecke. Zudem werden die bestehenden Stationen wiederverwendet und mit regionalen Materialien erweitert. Dieses nachhaltige und umweltfreundliche Projekt führt den wichtigen Umweltgedanken weiter und macht Flims zu einer attraktiven Tourismusdestination.

Gästefeedback ist wichtig

Im Dezember 2021 wurde das Projekt beim Anlass „Flims2Flums“ in Flums Einwohnern und Zweitheimischen der Gemeinde Flims gezeigt – die Feedbacks werden in die weiteren Überlegungen und Planungen miteingebaut. Das Ropetaxi wurde dabei als modern, geradlinig, innovativ und beeindruckend bewertet. Die Höchstwerte wurden für das Design, den Sitzkomfort, den einfachen Einstieg und den Fahrkomfort vergeben. Die Erwartungen der Gäste sind klar: Der Hausberg Cassons soll durch einen einfachen Zugang im Sommer und im Winter erreicht werden können. Dabei soll die Bahn Rücksicht auf die Natur und die wertvolle Tierwelt in den Bergen nehmen.
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.